toolcompass.

Find your next AI tool

Search by product name or task. Press Escape to close.

Pinery Prose

● Identity checked

Book writing and publishing studio · Official-source review 2026-10-09

Pinery is a Mac Markdown studio for writing, editing and typesetting books. Prose drafts and critiques inside the manuscript, offers reviewable edit differences and generates scene illustrations, alongside PDF, EPUB 3 and static-site exports.

Updated 2026-10-09View sources
Official website
Category
Book writing and publishing studio
Free access
Free download advertised. Ongoing feature limits, AI allowances, paid license and provider costs are not disclosed in the reviewed page.
API access
Not confirmed: public API or supported AI provider/key arrangements. Word import, Markdown/iCloud files and book exports are advertised.

Is Pinery Prose right for you?

A good fit for

Relevant to authors who want manuscript editing and book layout in the same local project.

Before you choose

Requires macOS 13 or later. Includes chapter notes, reusable assets, automatic tables of contents, installed Mac fonts and Kindle-style preview. Accept/reject edits before applying them. Local manuscript storage does not establish that AI processing remains on-device; model endpoints, retention and illustration rights need confirmation. EPUB/device rendering and Word-import fidelity were not tested. Exact license and cloud-model charges unknown. No manuscript upload, installation, AI generation or book export performed.

Workflow and handoff

Use a fictional chapter, inspect edit differences and generated artwork, and validate PDF/EPUB output on intended readers before publishing.

Pricing and practical limits

Requires macOS 13 or later. Includes chapter notes, reusable assets, automatic tables of contents, installed Mac fonts and Kindle-style preview. Accept/reject edits before applying them. Local manuscript storage does not establish that AI processing remains on-device; model endpoints, retention and illustration rights need confirmation. EPUB/device rendering and Word-import fidelity were not tested. Exact license and cloud-model charges unknown. No manuscript upload, installation, AI generation or book export performed.

Review method

Official product evidence reviewed on 2026-10-09; product artwork inspected visually. No hands-on vendor application test was performed. Application performance, security claims and plan enforcement were not independently tested.

What it can do

Features & capabilities

Unknown is different from unavailable. Each fact carries its own evidence.

CapabilityValueEvidenceChecked
Product workflowPinery is a Mac Markdown studio for writing, editing and typesetting books. Prose drafts and critiques inside the manuscript, offers reviewable edit differences and generates scene illustrations, alongside PDF, EPUB 3 and static-site exports.Facts sourced2026-10-09
Pricing and restrictionsRequires macOS 13 or later. Includes chapter notes, reusable assets, automatic tables of contents, installed Mac fonts and Kindle-style preview. Accept/reject edits before applying them. Local manuscript storage does not establish that AI processing remains on-device; model endpoints, retention and illustration rights need confirmation. EPUB/device rendering and Word-import fidelity were not tested. Exact license and cloud-model charges unknown. No manuscript upload, installation, AI generation or book export performed.Facts sourced2026-10-09

Understand the total cost

Pinery Prose pricing & plans

Pinery / Prose

Not listed

Free download; license and AI costs unconfirmed

Included scope
Manuscript editing, illustration, typesetting and publishing exports
Explore pricing & history

Alternatives to Pinery Prose

View all ↗

The practical questions

Frequently asked questions

Was the application hands-on tested?

No. This listing is based on dated official-source evidence and a visual artwork check. Unconfirmed costs and restrictions are identified explicitly.

What is Pinery Prose used for?

Pinery is a Mac Markdown studio for writing, editing and typesetting books. Prose drafts and critiques inside the manuscript, offers reviewable edit differences and generates scene illustrations, alongside PDF, EPUB 3 and static-site exports.

Does Pinery Prose have a free plan?

Free download advertised. Ongoing feature limits, AI allowances, paid license and provider costs are not disclosed in the reviewed page.. This record does not confirm an ongoing free plan.

How much does Pinery Prose cost?

A listed monthly price has not been confirmed. See the plan cards for entitlements, billing commitments and seat minimums.

Can I use Pinery Prose through an API?

Not confirmed: public API or supported AI provider/key arrangements. Word import, Markdown/iCloud files and book exports are advertised.. API access and subscription access may have different terms; consult the linked sources.

What should I check before choosing it?

Requires macOS 13 or later. Includes chapter notes, reusable assets, automatic tables of contents, installed Mac fonts and Kindle-style preview. Accept/reject edits before applying them. Local manuscript storage does not establish that AI processing remains on-device; model endpoints, retention and illustration rights need confirmation. EPUB/device rendering and Word-import fidelity were not tested. Exact license and cloud-model charges unknown. No manuscript upload, installation, AI generation or book export performed.

Price history

No retained pricing changes yet. A current price alone does not establish a historical trend.

How this profile is supported

Official product information

Current official product source read individually; product artwork inspected visually.

Read original source ↗
Pricing review

Official product page reviewed for disclosed costs; unverified prices and allowances are identified in the listing.

Read original source ↗

Facts apply to the named version and check date. Send a sourced correction if something changed.