toolcompass.

Find your next AI tool

Search by product name or task. Press Escape to close.

Opyt

● Identity checked

Personal research knowledge bases · Official-source review 2026-10-09

Opyt turns saved reading, followed authors and research topics into a growing knowledge base available through MCP. It supports public research and web sources plus user-approved X and Substack connections.

Updated 2026-10-09View sources
Official website
Category
Personal research knowledge bases
Free access
The official site describes Opyt as free and MIT-licensed; optional own OpenRouter use has separate provider terms.
API access
MCP over stdio is documented for supported AI clients; it runs a local collection worker on macOS.

Is Opyt right for you?

A good fit for

Useful for researchers retrieving source material from their existing reading habits.

Before you choose

LinkedIn, aggregator feeds and funding data are marked forthcoming. Connected accounts and source-content rights require review. The site says default model access is covered but does not specify a recurring quota. Background collection and retrieval quality were not hands-on tested.

Workflow and handoff

Approve one source, inspect imported content and citations, and confirm background-worker behavior before connecting more personal accounts.

Pricing and practical limits

LinkedIn, aggregator feeds and funding data are marked forthcoming. Connected accounts and source-content rights require review. The site says default model access is covered but does not specify a recurring quota. Background collection and retrieval quality were not hands-on tested.

Review method

Official product evidence reviewed on 2026-10-09; product artwork inspected visually. No hands-on vendor application test was performed. Application performance, security claims and plan enforcement were not independently tested.

What it can do

Features & capabilities

Unknown is different from unavailable. Each fact carries its own evidence.

CapabilityValueEvidenceChecked
Product workflowOpyt turns saved reading, followed authors and research topics into a growing knowledge base available through MCP. It supports public research and web sources plus user-approved X and Substack connections.Facts sourced2026-10-09
Pricing and restrictionsLinkedIn, aggregator feeds and funding data are marked forthcoming. Connected accounts and source-content rights require review. The site says default model access is covered but does not specify a recurring quota. Background collection and retrieval quality were not hands-on tested.Facts sourced2026-10-09

Understand the total cost

Opyt pricing & plans

MIT-licensed project

Free

Free project; optional provider usage separate

Included scope
MCP knowledge retrieval and approved source collection
Explore pricing & history

Alternatives to Opyt

View all ↗

The practical questions

Frequently asked questions

Was the application hands-on tested?

No. This listing is based on dated official-source evidence and a visual artwork check. Unconfirmed costs and restrictions are identified explicitly.

What is Opyt used for?

Opyt turns saved reading, followed authors and research topics into a growing knowledge base available through MCP. It supports public research and web sources plus user-approved X and Substack connections.

Does Opyt have a free plan?

The official site describes Opyt as free and MIT-licensed; optional own OpenRouter use has separate provider terms.. This record lists ongoing free access; check the plan limits before starting.

How much does Opyt cost?

No paid monthly price is listed; this record treats the product as free to start. See the plan cards for entitlements, billing commitments and seat minimums.

Can I use Opyt through an API?

MCP over stdio is documented for supported AI clients; it runs a local collection worker on macOS.. API access and subscription access may have different terms; consult the linked sources.

What should I check before choosing it?

LinkedIn, aggregator feeds and funding data are marked forthcoming. Connected accounts and source-content rights require review. The site says default model access is covered but does not specify a recurring quota. Background collection and retrieval quality were not hands-on tested.

Price history

No retained pricing changes yet. A current price alone does not establish a historical trend.

How this profile is supported

Official product information

Current official product source read individually; product artwork inspected visually.

Read original source ↗
Pricing review

Official product page reviewed for disclosed costs; unverified prices and allowances are identified in the listing.

Read original source ↗

Facts apply to the named version and check date. Send a sourced correction if something changed.